24 Jun Oregon Close to Adult Use Cannabis Tax, But It Won’t Kick in For 6 Months
SALEM — A key legislative committee on Tuesday approved a bill that would establish a sales tax on recreational marijuana sales in Oregon — but that could also give bargain shoppers some tax-free pot buying opportunities in the coming months.
The legislation calls for a sales tax of up to 20 percent once state-licensed recreational marijuana retailers open shop sometime in the latter half of 2016.
In the meantime, House Bill 2041, calls for the Legislature to have a stiffer tax of 25 percent if lawmakers decide to go ahead with a temporary program to allow medical marijuana dispensaries to sell to recreational consumers.
But as they say in the late-night infomercials, wait, there’s more. If that early sales program happens — and it’s by no means a certainty — the pot won’t be taxed until Jan. 4. [Read more at the Portland Oregonian]
The post Oregon Close to Adult Use Cannabis Tax, But It Won’t Kick in For 6 Months appeared first on Cannabis Business Executive.